WORK PRINCIPLES

FactCheck team uses unique mechanisms and principles that are inherent in the concept of fact-checking as research and verification tool of a fact.

Techniques of such international fact-checking organizations as American PolitiFact (http://www.politifact.com) and Georgian Factcheck (http://factcheck.ge/en) give to Ukrainian FactCheck practical experience and examples of optimal schemes of investigation and analysis.

FactCheck experts are closely monitoring the rhetoric of politicians and other public figures. To this end, team analyzes the transcripts of the Parliament and its specialized committees, the Cabinet of Ministers, Presidential Administration, National Council Reform, studied news, social network profiles, materials, talk shows, press conferences and briefings, statements to the media and other public places. Selected claims related to the most relevant and pressing issues in the country are checked for accuracy.

We check only claims that contain a valid, variable “fact”. Experts analyze the assumptions, forecasts and subjective opinion.

Research and summarizing verdicts are published on the website in the form of short analytical articles. Their formats are suitable for the perception by average people.

In addition to classical articles, a team of experts is always prepare  CheckQuiz – short analytical information messages, which verified the accuracy of the statements of politicians and public figures in the format of “blitz.” The proof or refutation of these facts does not require deep analytical explanations, background.

Принципы работы

В своей работе команда Factcheck использует уникальные механизмы и принципы, которые заложены в концепции факт-чекинга, как инструмента исследования и проверки достоверности того или иного факта.

Методики таких международных факт-чекинговых организаций, как американский проект PolitiFact (http://www.politifact.com) и грузинский Factcheck.ge (http://factcheck.ge/en), дают украинскому Factcheck практические наработки и примеры реализации оптимальных схем расследований и аналитики.

Эксперты Factcheck ежедневно проводят тщательный  мониторинг высказываний политиков и других публичных персон. С этой целью анализируются стенограммы заседаний Верховной Рады и ее профильных комитетов, Кабинета Министров, Администрации Президента, Национальной Рады Реформ, изучаются новостные ресурсы, профили в социальных сетях, материалы ток-шоу, пресс-конференций и брифингов, заявления в СМИ и других публичных местах. Отобранные высказывания, которые касаются наиболее актуальных и животрепещущих для страны и общества вопросов, проверяются на достоверность.

Проверке подвергаются только заявления, содержащие действительный, проверяемый «факт». Эксперты не анализируют предположения, прогнозы и субъективные мнения.

Исследования и резюмирующие вердикты публикуются на сайте в виде коротких аналитических статей. Их формат изложения доступный для восприятия широкого круга читателей.

Кроме классических статей в формате “fact-check”, команда экспертов ежедневно готовит CheckQuiz – короткие аналитические информационные сообщения, в которых проверяется достоверность высказываний политиков и публичных фигур в формате «блиц». Доказательство или опровержение данных фактов не требует глубоких аналитических пояснений, раскрытия предыстории.